The Newfoundlanders had cleared 486 ha (1,200 ac) of timberland on the Duke of Atholl’s lands before they were moved southwest in early 1918 to Kenmore and Drummond Hill where a further 324 ha (800 ac) of forest was allocated to these men. Their aptitude for the work and work ethic has to be admired, when one thinks that all this timber clearing was done with double-headed axes, two-handed bucks saws, and Peavies. The latter being a type of cant hook with a spike at one end and a hinged hook on the bottom which was used for rolling and moving large logs.
Again, Newfoundland ingenuity and experience came into play. Kenmore is at the eastern end of Loch Tay, and the rail connection for the timber to be shipped at the opposite, at Killin. They proposed to build large scows (barges) to float the sawn timber to the railway, thus solving a transportation challenge. Calls went back to St. John’s to recruit men from Grand Falls area who were expert at building scows, used on the Exploits River log drives.
Sadly, Private Gerald Hogan (#8111) was struck and killed by rolling log on August 16, 1918. He and Private Arthur Wyatt (#8130), who drowned on December 10, 1918, are buried in Kenmore Parish Cemetery. The officers and men of the Newfoundland Forestry Corps erected headstones, designed with a logging theme to all three of their fallen comrades.
It would be there on Drummond Hill they would work when the Armistice was signed and the war ended on November 11, 1918. By January, 1919 the Forestry Corps were preparing to close down their Scottish operations and return to Newfoundland. Appreciation and accolades were given after the war ended and the Corps was winding up at Kenmore by the Timber Supply Department, pointing to the areas the Newfoundland Foresters were assigned, “You have tackled two of the most difficult operations which have come within the scope of the Department’s work in Scotland.”